top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search

Broken Hearts




Recently, I felt myself go through a deep kind of pain, like nothing I have ever experienced before. It's the kind of heartbreak that leaves you wanting instant relief, desperate for an immediate cure. It's something that I would not wish on my worst enemy.


Do you know what I'm talking about? It feels a lot like your heart is being ripped from your chest and then crushed in the hands of the one you trusted the most. It's gut-wrenchingly painful and cruel. You find hope is far away and everything now seems bleak and empty.


Pretty depressing yeah? Well, don't worry, the end of the post gets happier, I promise. See because, without the hurt, we wouldn't know that we needed help. Without the rain, we wouldn't appreciate the rainbow right? One more: without the sorrow, joy means less.


I believe that sometimes we need to experience moments of darkness to realize our need for the light. We also understand and sympathize better with others when we ourselves have walked through the rain of a dark, cloudy day.

Eeyore was my favorite character from Winnie The Pooh when I was a kid. The reason was that I wanted to help him out. I could feel his pain. But it wasn't until today that I realized what that really feels like. It feels really nasty. And that motivates me.


That motivates me to care about all the people out there with broken hearts because I know what it's like. I know what it's like because I have felt their pain, both by supernatural impartation and now by personal relation. And it might surprise you to hear I'm thankful.


I'm grateful to God that He can turn my cloudy days into sunny days. I'm thankful that He does. And I appreciate the fact that now my heart burns even greater for those whose own hearts are burning in pain. My compassion is enhanced and my drive to help stronger.





So, remember on the darkest night of the soul, you are NOT alone. Other people are going through painful things too. You are not the only person who has had a broken heart. You will get through it, Lord willing, and I pray you are better for it. Better because now you get it.


You get how extreme it feels. You understand how serious emotional pain can be. And it's not to be ignored. Guess what...feelings do matter! God gave them to us. He does everything for a reason, and when our hearts cry out in pain, the best thing we can do is cry out to Him.


He hears us. He is near to us. And He catches our teardrops in jars in Heaven. His heart breaks with ours and He cries too. Jesus wept. Shortest verse in the Bible.


So, it's okay to cry. It's okay to hurt, and sometimes you will. But just know that God is with you and He loves you so dearly...more than you can fathom. His heart is tender too, and when your own heart breaks easily, it just means that you love well.


And don't be afraid to love well and to love deeply. Love vastly and immeasurably. Love beyond walls, beyond borders, and beyond limitations. Love with everything you have.


Because you know what the cure for broken hearts is? Love.


And we all could use a little more love.






55 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page