top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search

As I Read...

As I read about the state of the world, I cry. I cry out to Jesus. Not because I am scared, not because I am depressed but because my heart breaks. My heart breaks for the lost souls who died before their time without knowing the hope of Jesus. Young "stars" whose light went out way too soon. I read about celebrities like Juice Wrld, Lil Peep and XXXTentacion who died so young. Yes, they made poor decisions but who hasn't? If they didn't know the Lord, how could we expect more? Isn't it our responsibility, as believers, to share our faith?


And what about Tekashi69, also a young and naïve rapper, who faces prison time and more seriously, death threats? There is now a target on his back since he "snitched" to officials of his gang-related involvement. Yes, he committed crimes but he's still a child in a lot of ways who simply needs to know the Father. He didn't have his own dad in his life growing up. How can we expect him to do better when he knows no better? Doesn't his life matter too?


And I also hurt for the people who try so hard to do the right thing but apart from Jesus, they do the wrong thing. They fight and protest and yell and scream and petition but it is love and kindness that saves the world, not violence, not force, not aggression. Or what about the stories I hear about children questioning who they are, young kids unsure of their identity and being pressured to take pills to change them. What about people putting their trust in government when the government should be on the shoulders of Jesus Christ?


Donald Trump is not our Savior. Hollywood does not have all the answers either. Gangs will not be the family you really need. Trying to change your gender won't satisfy you. And I could go on and on and on. But this is the news that I just read today alone. It was enough to move me. To make me feel a great burden on my heart for the lost. To bring me to the point of tears as I sit here in this coffee shop wanting to cry out to my Savior to help me help them.


But I can't do it alone. One person alone is not meant to save the world. Jesus alone can save. But He works through His people. Ordinary people like you and me who He calls extraordinary. He gives us gifts and anointing to carry out this mandate to change lives. He empowers us to bring His saving power into a world filled with darkness and confusion.


We get to literally partner with the King of Heaven to advance His Kingdom and bring Heaven to Earth. How cool is that? Nothing else compares. Nothing else comes close.


It's time we make our move. It's time we pray and we intercede on behalf of the lost and lonely. And it's time we act. It's time we activate our faith and we share the Gospel, the Good News of Eternal Life with Jesus Christ, our Lord. The world is waiting. All of Creation is longing for the sons and daughters of God to rise up. Will we answer the call? Or will we run away and hide in fear and be swallowed up by the darkness? The choice is ours.


The whole creation waits breathless with anticipation for the revelation of God's sons and daughters. (Romans 8:19)


The world is waiting. And they need us. Because we have Him. We have the hope they need. It's time. The world is waiting.


Tekashi Photo: Jefferson Siegel/NY Daily News via Getty Images


28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page